Creamy Taco Mac

28 Oct

I have a confession, I like Hamburger Helper. There I said it, do you think less of me? I actually had never tried it until I was in college because my parents never cooked it. This is a better for you version of Hamburger Helper. I used my homemade taco seasoning in it and it didn’t let me down. I will definitely make this one again!

Creamy Taco Mac

Source: Delish

1.25 lbs ground turkey (I used 99% fat free Honeysuckle White)

8 oz dry pasta plus 1 cup reserved pasta water (I used Ronzoni Smart Pasta)

1 (14.5 oz) can of petite diced tomatoes

4 tablespoons mild taco seasoning

3 oz cream cheese (I used 1/3 less fat)

1/2 cup sour cream (I used fat free)

salt and pepper

cheddar cheese (optional)  I used 1 cup shredded colby jack/cheddar

Bring a large pot of salted water to boil and cook pasta as directed per package. Reserve 1 cup of pasta water.

Over medium heat, brown turkey until no longer pink. Add taco seasoning and diced tomatoes. Allow to simmer over low heat 5 minutes. Add cooked pasta, reserved water, cream cheese, and sour cream. Stir until incorporated well. Simmer over low 2-3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper as desired. Top off with cheddar cheese if desired (I stirred in 1 cup of cheese)

*This recipe makes 7 (1 cup) servings for a total of 7 WW points if you make it with my adaptations. My husband thought it had too much taco seasoning so you might want to adjust your taco seasoning to taste. I thought it was perfect as is!

One Response to “Creamy Taco Mac”

  1. Donna October 31, 2010 at 12:09 AM #

    I love one pot dishes like this during busy weeknights. I, like you, am a nurse,a nd find these meals invaluable!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

