Turkey Parmesan Burgers

I have been wanting to try this recipe for a while, but I just never got around to it. The original recipe was for chicken parmesan burgers, but I couldn’t find ground chicken at my local grocery store.

 We really liked this recipe with the turkey, my only suggestion would be to flatten the patties out. I made ours way to big, and it was difficult to taste all the flavors at once. When I would get a bite of the Italian seasoned turkey, melted provolone, and pasta sauce, it was really tasty. Next time I might try grinding my own chicken breasts for this recipe.

 I have a suggestion when buying ground turkey meat. Make sure you purchase the lean ground turkey breast meat that is found in the refrigerated section of the meat case. Don’t buy the ground turkey that is in a tube in the freezer section! I used to not care for ground turkey until I tried the version not in the freezer section. It makes such a difference! It is more expensive, but there is no comparison in taste.

Turkey Parmesan Burgers

Adapted From: elly says opa!

  

Burgers:

1 lb lean ground turkey meat

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/4 cup Italian bread crumbs

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

1 1/2 tablespoons dried parsley

1 clove garlic, finely minced or pressed

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

salt and pepper

Topping:

1/2 cup pasta sauce

4 slices provolone

sautéed mushrooms (optional)

4 buns (brushed with a little garlic butter)

Lightly mix together all the ingredients for the burgers. Form into 4 patties. Make up patties about 30-40 minutes before cooking to let the flavors mingle.

Preheat the broiler and coat a broiler pan with oil. Broil the burgers for about 4 minutes on the first side, then flip and broil for 3 minutes. Because I made my patties so large, I had to increase my cooking time.

Top each burger with 2 tablespoons pasta sauce and a slice of cheese. Place back under the broiler for 30-30 seconds, until cheese is melted and burger is cooked through. Top with mushrooms if desired.

Place the buns in the broiler for about 10 seconds, just until toasted.

One thought on “Turkey Parmesan Burgers

Leave a Reply

