Chicken Taco Burgers

11 May

I just participated in another recipe swap from the cooking board I frequent. If you would like to check out all of the recipes, you can go to A Taste of Home Cooking. This time around, the theme was burgers/sandwiches. I shared my recipe for Italian Beef Sandwiches, and in return received this recipe.

I couldn’t find ground chicken at any of my local grocery stores, so I used our meat grinder to grind boneless skinless chicken breasts up myself. My chicken breasts were in the freezer, and I didn’t let them thaw completely before grinding. I think this helped alot when I went to grind the meat, it didn’t turn into mush.

We thought this recipe was just ok. I thought the taco flavor was really great, and I loved the layer of cheese on the inside of the burger. Since I had to grind my own chicken, it took a while to assemble this recipe. I topped my burger with avocado, and my husband added an extra slice of cheddar cheese to his. I pan fried these, as I was afraid how they would hold up on the grill. Grilling them would have given them a great smoky flavor.

Chicken Taco Burgers

Source: Caitlin’s Cooking and More, originally from elly says opa!

 

1 1/4 pound ground chicken

1/3 cup sliced scallions

1 1/2 tsp chili powder

3/4 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp paprika

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

2 tbl chopped parsley

2 cloves pressed garlic

2 tbl cornmeal

2 oz cheese, shredded or thinly sliced (I used cheddar)

toppings of your choice (I used avocado)

Lightly mix together the first 9 ingredients (through cornmeal) and salt to taste (about 3/4 tsp.).   Divide the mixture into 8 patties.  Place cheese on top of 4 of the patties, and then place the other 4 patties on top of the ones with cheese, leaving a border around the cheese.  Press the edges together to make 4 total patties.

Grill or pan-fry the burgers until cooked through, about 4-5 minutes per side.  Place on buns and serve with your favorite toppings.

One Response to “Chicken Taco Burgers”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Menu Aug. 13-19 « Crockpot Tuesdays - August 14, 2011

    [...] w/pasta salad Monday:  Pulled pork tacos Tuesday: leftovers tacos Wednesday: Chicken taco burgers w/salad Thursday: Lemon crab linguine with feta Friday: [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

