Bacon, Egg and Cheese Breakfast Quesadillas

15 Aug

If you know me well, you know that I love Mexican food. I even like to top my scrambled eggs with salsa. I had a couple of flour tortillas in my fridge the other morning, and thought breakfast quesadillas sounded like a great idea! I served them with salsa, sour cream, and a side of fruit.

I used my Santa Fe Quesadilla maker to make them, and it worked great. My parents got me this a few years ago for Christmas and I use it quite often. You can make quesadillas in a frying pan, but with the quesadilla maker you don’t have to flip the quesadilla over. I don’t know about you, but every time I try to flip them over, all the filling starts to fall out. I don’t usually like products that only serve one purpose, but I highly recommend this quesadilla maker.

 

Bacon, Egg and Cheese Breakfast Quesadillas

Source: The Cooking Nurse original recipe, serves 1-2

 

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 tablespoon milk

salt and pepper

1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

2 slices bacon, cooked and diced

2 burrito sized flour tortillas

2 tablespoons butter or margarine

sour cream and salsa (optional)

 

In a small bowl, whisk together eggs and milk and set aside. Preheat quesadilla maker or non-stick skillet. Spray either one with small amount of cooking spray.

Prepare bacon, dice and set aside. Scramble eggs (I used the same pan I cooked the bacon in). When eggs are almost cooked through, add shredded cheese, bacon, and s&p to taste. Continue to cook until eggs are cooked through, and cheese is melted.

Butter one side of each tortilla. Place buttered side down in quesadilla maker or large skillet. Add scrambled egg mixture to top of quesadilla, spreading to about 1/2 inch from outer edge of tortilla. Place second buttered tortilla on top, buttered side up. Close quesadilla maker, and continue cooking until golden brown. If using skillet, flip quesadilla over carefully and continue cooking until golden brown on both sides.

Remove from quesadilla maker and cut with a pizza cutter into triangles. Serve with sour cream and salsa if desired.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Bacon, Egg and Cheese Breakfast Quesadillas”

  1. Julie August 15, 2011 at 9:34 PM #

    I’ve always wondered if buying one of those quesadilla makers would be worth it. Now I’m thinking yes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

