Double Chocolate Muffins

25 Jan

I used to love to buy Otis Spunkmeyer chocolate chocolate chip muffins, but I haven’t seen them in years. When I spotted this recipe, I knew that I needed to try it! I’m so glad I did. These muffins are everything I craved about the Otis Spunkmeyer originals. They are moist, dense, and full of rich dark chocolate. My husband said they had too much chocolate for him. I laughed at him and said you can never have too much chocolate!

Double Chocolate Muffins

Source: Mel’s Kitchen Cafe, adapted from Allrecipes

 

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup cocoa

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

3 eggs

1 cup light sour cream

1/2 cup plum juice or water

1/2 cup lowfat milk

1/2 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, salt, and chocolate chips. Toss to combine.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, sour cream, plum juice (or water), milk, oil, and vanilla extract.

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and stir in the wet ingredients, stirring just until moistened.

Line 24 (I had 27)  muffins cups with paper liners and fill cups 1/2 to 2/3 full. Bake for 16-18 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Remove the muffins to a wire rack to let cool.

One Response to “Double Chocolate Muffins”

  1. Julie @ Sugarfoot Eats January 25, 2012 at 6:50 PM #

    Ah Otis Spunkmeyer muffins! So good yet so bad for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

