Slow Cooked Chili Steak Fajitas

2 Feb

I think everyone knows how much I enjoy crockpot recipes! I love when I can find good crockpot recipes, I should say! I made this as part of a Mexican themed birthday celebration for a friend.

I thought this was really good, although I would up the seasonings next time I make it. I thought it could use a tad more salt, and my husband thought it needed a little more taco seasoning. I would definitely make it again though! I served this with diced avocados, fresh homemade salsa, sour cream, and shredded cheddar cheese on warm flour tortillas.

Slow Cooked Chili Steak Fajitas

Source: adapted from Can You Stay For Dinner?

 

1 lb. beef flank steak, thinly sliced

1/2  medium onion, sliced thinly into strips

1/2 cup medium salsa

2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

1 tablespoon lemon juice

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tablespoon chili powder

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 green peppers, sliced into thin strips

flour tortillas, salsa, avocados, sour cream, cheese

  1. Thinly slice the flank steak and place it along with the sliced onion in the base of a slow cooker.
  2. Mix the salsa, cilantro, lemon juice, garlic, chili powder, cumin, and salt in a small bowl and pour over to evenly cover. Cook on the lowest setting for 10 hours.
  3. One hour before the beef is done cooking, add the sliced bell peppers to the slow cooker so that they may soften slightly.
  4. Serve the beef, onion, and peppers in warmed flour tortillas with any toppings you like.
One Response to “Slow Cooked Chili Steak Fajitas”

  1. Julie @ Sugarfoot Eats February 2, 2012 at 6:07 PM #

    I adore Can You Stay For Dinner?!! Can’t believe I’ve never made anything from her blog yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

