Chicken and Sausage Gumbo {Crockpot}

19 Mar

My sister-in-law makes the best gumbo I have ever had. I often ask her when she is making it next! I found this recipe on Pinterest, and couldn’t wait to try it. I knew it wouldn’t be as good as my sister-in-law’s homemade gumbo, but I was pleasantly surprised how much I liked this recipe. This recipe comes from the website diabetic living, and is low-fat. The traditional roux of gumbo is made without fat in this recipe. My husband had recently smoked a whole chicken, so I used that in the recipe. I thought it enhanced the flavor of the gumbo, but I think rotisserie chicken would work well too. I also replaced the water in the recipe with chicken broth to add more flavor. I thought it could use a bit of salt, so I recommend adding salt to taste at the end. I served this with hot sauce and cornbread on the side.

Chicken and Sausage Gumbo

Source: slightly adapted from diabetic living

 

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1 (14 oz) can chicken broth + 1 1/2 cups chicken broth

2 cups chopped cooked chicken breast

10 oz smoked turkey sausage, quartered lengthwise and sliced

10 oz package frozen okra, partially thawed

1 cup coarsely chopped onion (I used 1 teaspoon onion powder)

1 cup coarsely chopped green or red pepper

1/2 cup sliced celery

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

3 cups hot cooked brown rice

For the roux: In a heavy medium saucepan, cook flour over medium heat about 6 minutes, or until brown, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat; cool slightly. Gradually stir in 1 can broth. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly.

Pour thickened flour mixture into crockpot. Add chicken, sausage, okra, 1 1/2 cups broth, onion, green or red pepper, celery, garlic, thyme, black pepper, and cayenne pepper.

Cover and cook on low for 6-7 hours or high for 3 to 3 1/2 hours. Serve over steamed rice. Makes 8 (3/4 cup) servings.

2 Responses to “Chicken and Sausage Gumbo {Crockpot}”

  1. MrsTDJ March 20, 2012 at 8:30 AM #

    Sounds yummy! I’ve never invested the time to make gumbo, but my husband loves it. This sounds like a recipe that I could tackle. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

