Vegetarian Black Bean Burgers

30 Mar

cookies1This was a first for me, a vegetarian meal! I was flipping through my Pampered Chef cookbook It’s Good For You, and came across this recipe. I love black beans, so I thought it couldn’t be all that bad. The burger weighs in at 3 weight watcher points, whatever bun you use would be additional points. I even got my husband to try this recipe!

Vegetarian Black Bean Burgers

  • 1 can (15 ounces) black beans, drained, rinsed and mashed
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onion (I used onion powder)
  • 1/3 cup whole kernel corn
  • 1/4 cup thick and chunky salsa
  • 1 garlic clove, pressed
  • 2 tablespoons snipped fresh cilantro or parsley (I used dry parsley)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup unseasoned dry bread crumbs (I used italian, it’s what I had on hand)
  • 2 egg whites, lightly beaten

Mash beans in classic batter bowl using nylon masher. Finely chop onion using food chopper. Add onion, corn, salsa, garlic, cilantro or parsley, salt, and pepper to beans; mix well. Form bean mixture into four round patties, abour 1/2 inch thick. Heat a skillet over medium heat. Lightly spray pan with nonstick cooking spray; cook patties 6-8 minutes or until lightly browned, turning once. Place burgers on buns; serve with toppings if desired. I served these with sliced avocado.

Verdict: I really liked these, Eric said he didn’t care if I made them again (as he was eating two of them).

8 Responses to “Vegetarian Black Bean Burgers”

  1. Recipe man March 30, 2009 at 5:46 PM #

    looks good!
    i love veggie burgers

    thanks

  2. Rachel March 31, 2009 at 1:34 AM #

    These look so good! I’ve starred them to make later!

  3. oneparticularkitchen April 1, 2009 at 11:52 AM #

    This looks great! What’s the texture like? Wondering if I can get my carnivore husband to eat them. I loooooove black beans.

    • thecookingnurse April 1, 2009 at 12:48 PM #

      The texture is definately not like a real hamburger, it’s soft; but I still enjoyed them!

  4. jenmatteson March 28, 2012 at 2:58 PM #

    These look amazing! I love black bean veggie burgers – they have so much flavor. I cannot wait to try these!

    • jenmatteson April 13, 2012 at 10:09 AM #

      They WERE amazing! Even my meat eater boyfriend loved them. I made the mistake of putting them on the grill, because I love anything grilled, but word to the wise – it’s a no go. I had to take them off (what was left) and put them in a frying pan. No biggie.

      Also, I nominated your blog for the Versatile Blogger Award. Check it out: http://becomingpigzilla.com/2012/04/13/the-versitile-blogger-award/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegetarian Black Bean Burgers « becoming pigzilla - April 30, 2012

    […] a good veggie burger.  Even more, I love a good black bean veggie burger, so I knew I had to try this recipe from The Cooking Nurse when I saw it.  There is something about the black beans that really […]

Leave a Reply

