Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

9 Jun

Last night I  had a big craving for peanut butter cookies , but I resisted the urge and didn’t make them. Today, the Brown Eyed Baker posted these Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies. I took it as a sign that I was to make these today! They looked so delish on her peanut butter cookiesblog, I had to try them. I even left her a comment that I was going to make them today. I’m not working tonight, so I thought why not. I’m so glad I did, they are quite possibly the best peanut butter cookies I have ever had! So, go make these right now!

 

Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies  (source: Brown Eyed Baker)

 

  • 1¾ all-purpose flour
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¾ cup creamy peanut butter
  • ½ cup vegetable shortening
  • 1¼ cups packed light brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • Granulated sugar, for rolling cookies

 

1. Preheat oven to 375°. Line baking sheets with parchment or a silicone baking mat.

2. Combine the flour, salt and baking soda in a small bowl and set aside.

3. Combine the peanut butter, shortening, brown sugar, milk and vanilla in a mixing bowl. Beat at medium speed until well blended. Add the egg and beat just until blended. Reduce speed to low and add to the creamed mixture gradually, mixing just until combined.

4. Put the granulated sugar in a small bowl. Scoop a tablespoonful of dough and roll into a ball between the palms of your hands. Roll the dough into the sugar and place on the baking sheet, about 2 inches apart. Dip the tines of a fork into the sugar and make a crisscross pattern on the cookies, flattening them slightly.

5. Bake for 7 to 8 minutes or until set and just beginning to brown. Cool 2 minutes on baking sheet before removing to a cooling rack.

5 Responses to “Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies”

  1. Michelle June 9, 2009 at 9:42 AM #

    I’m so glad that you enjoyed these! I love your criss-crosses – they look fabulous!

  2. peachkins June 14, 2009 at 2:36 AM #

    I am a sucker for peanutbutter…who can resist these cookies. I wish it’s not 11pm here now.

  3. Mom June 26, 2009 at 6:23 AM #

    These are really great it was all I could do not to eat the whole bag you sent us
    Thanks!
    Mom

  4. Jessica June 29, 2009 at 2:18 AM #

    Those look amazing! I have a love affair with peanut butter!!

  5. katshealthcorner January 19, 2011 at 6:58 PM #

    These look FABulous! Yummers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

