Ham and Cheese Baked Rigatoni

8 Jul

I’m not a huge fan of casseroles, but this was really good! I made it a couple of days before I cooked it and it reheated very well. The recipe states that it freezes well also. I will be adding this in to our rotation.

 

Ham and Cheese Baked Rigatoni

Source: Recipes of a Cheapskate, originally from Food Network)

  • 1 (16 oz) package of  rigatoni pasta
  • 1 cube butter
  • 1/2 cup flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 4 cups milk (I used skim)
  • 2 cups grated mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 pound thinly sliced ham
  • seasonings (onion salt, pepper, cayenne pepper)
  • small pads of butter for top

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Melt butter over medium heat and start water boiling for pasta. Once butter is melted, whisk in flour. Add your milk, and continue to to stir until the sauce is thick enough to coat the back of the spoon. When the water is boiling, add the pasta and cook until the al dente stage. When the white sauce is done, add your seasonings, ham, and cheese. Stir well, until the cheese is melted. Drain the pasta and add the white sauce, stirring to combine. Pour mixture into a greased 9 x 13 in pan. Sprinkle the top with cheese. Dot the top with the pads of butter and bake for about 25 minutes, or until bubbly and brown.

 

    pasta
6 Responses to “Ham and Cheese Baked Rigatoni”

  1. Brianna & Dustin July 8, 2009 at 12:14 PM #

    mmm that looks like such a comforting meal! Ham and cheese is such a great combo – I never thought to use it in a pasta bake!

  2. Jessica July 8, 2009 at 12:56 PM #

    This looks great! I love finding new things that I can make ahead of time and pop in the oven when I need them!

  3. Jessica July 8, 2009 at 1:10 PM #

    This sounds like a great way to liven up my pasta rotation!

  4. Donna July 8, 2009 at 1:55 PM #

    That sounds like a delicious dish, and its so good to know its good leftover. I love dishes with god lleftovers, I send them to work with my hubby.

  5. Denise July 8, 2009 at 10:37 PM #

    This looks so good and gooey. I love dishes like this!

  6. Elizabeth F. July 18, 2009 at 2:04 AM #

    I am a BIG fan of the “ham and cheese combo” – I will definitely give this a try.

Leave a Reply

