Cake Batter Ice Cream

23 Aug

I have wanted to buy a Cuisinart ice cream maker for a long time. I finally caved the other day and bought one. I have to say, I love it! It worked really well and I can’t wait to try it out again.

ice-20

My favorite flavor of ice cream is cake batter from Stone Cold Creamery. When I saw a copy cat recipe for it I was so excited! If you have ever been to Stone Cold, you know it costs an arm and a leg for ice cream. This recipe did not disappoint! It tastes remarkably like Stone Cold. I don’t think Stone Cold will be getting my money for a while!

 

Cake Batter Ice Cream

Source: Carrie’s Sweet Life, originally from Recipezaar.com

 

  • 1 cup whole milk, well chilled (I used skim)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 cups heavy cream, well chilled (I used half and half)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup yellow cake mix

In a medium bowl, whisk the milk and sugar together until the sugar is dissolved. Stir in the heavy cream and vanilla. Stir in the cake mix, making sure there are no lumps. Pour mixture into freezer bowl of your ice cream maker and let mix until it has thickened (about 25-30 minutes). Remove ice cream from freezer bowl and place into a separate container. Place container in freezer to further harden.

cb

5 Responses to “Cake Batter Ice Cream”

  1. Molly Jean August 23, 2009 at 12:51 PM #

    Oh you devil woman! You are not helping with my desire to buy an ice cream maker! I’ve been so good about staying away… but it’s posts like THIS that give me an itchy trigger finger 🙂 Your ice cream looks GREAT!!!

  2. thecookingnurse August 23, 2009 at 1:08 PM #

    You should buy one!!

  3. Melissa August 24, 2009 at 6:35 AM #

    I am so jealous of your ice cream maker! I have wanted one all summer, but I know I will gain 10 pounds as soon as I get it through the door! I LOVE ice cream!

  4. Joelen September 2, 2009 at 1:26 AM #

    Yum! What a great flavor to make!

  5. Carrie March 28, 2010 at 1:33 PM #

    I love this ice cream!

Leave a Reply

