Eggplant Parmesan

16 Oct

My mother in law gave me a few eggplant from her garden recently and I couldn’t wait to use them! I love eggplant parmesan from the Olive Garden, and I actually crave it. I have been trying to eat healthier lately so I knew I had to find a “lighter” version of my fried eggplant favorite. I stumbled onto this recipe from Eating Well and thought it looked like a winner. Baking the eggplant instead of frying it saves calories, as well as using egg whites in place of whole eggs.

 

Eggplant Parmesan

Source: Eating Well, September/October 1995

 

  • 2 eggplants, about 2 pounds total
  • 3 egg whites
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 cup fine dry breadcrumbs (I used Italian breadcrumbs)
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 cup slivered fresh basil leaves (I omitted)
  • 2 1/2 cups tomato sauce
  • 3/4 cup grated part skim mozzarella cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 4oo degrees. Coat two baking sheets and an 8 x 11 inch baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Cut eggplants crosswise into 1/4 inch thick slices. Whisk egg and water in a shallow dish until frothy. Combine breadcrumbs, 1/4 cup of Parmesan, salt and pepper in another shallow dish. Dip the eggplant slices into the egg white mixture, then coat with bread crumb mixture. Arrange the eggplant slices in a single layer on the prepared baking sheets. Bake for 15 minutes, then turn the eggplant slices over, and bake until crisp and golden, about 15 minutes longer.
  3. Stir basil into tomato sauce. Spread about 1/2 cup of the sauce in the bottom of the prepared baking dish. Arrange half of the eggplant slices over the sauce, overlapping slightly. Spoon about 1 cup of the remaining sauce over the eggplant and sprinkle with half of the mozzarella cheese. Add a layer of the remaining eggplant slices and top with the remaining sauce, mozzarella, and parmesan. Bake, uncovered, until the sauce bubbles and the top is golden, 15-20 minutes.

6 servings

Per serving: Calories 203, Fat 6g, Fiber 8g  (4 ww points)

eggplant

2 Responses to “Eggplant Parmesan”

  1. Maryanna October 16, 2009 at 9:25 AM #

    I love eggplant parmesan. Unfortunately hubby doesn’t like it, so I have to make it when he’s not around.

    • thecookingnurse October 16, 2009 at 2:47 PM #

      That is so funny, because my husband refused to eat this!

Leave a Reply

