Easy Herb Roasted Turkey

17 Nov

Perhaps you are looking for a great way to cook your Thanksgiving turkey this year. If so, this may be the recipe for you! I bought 3 turkeys at the grocery store the other day because I couldn’t pass up the great deals. We have a deep freezer, but I couldn’t fit all 3 in there. This recipe was certainly easy, and the turkey was moist and delicious.

 

Easy Herb Roasted Turkey

Source: Allrecipes

 

  • 1 (12 pound turkey)
  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon ground sage (I used savory)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 cups water
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Clean turkey (discard giblets and organs), and place in a roasting pan with a lid.
  2. In a small bowl, combine olive oil with seasonings (I doubled all seasonings). Using a basting brush, apply the mixture to the outside of the uncooked turkey. Pour the water into the bottom of the roasting pan and cover.
  3. Bake for 3 – 3 1/2 hours, or until the internal temperature of the thickest part of the thigh measures 180 degrees. I suggest checking earlier than this. I checked mine at just under 3 hours and it was done. Remove bird from oven, and allow to stand for about 30 minutes before carving.
  4. I just wanted to add that the drippings from the turkey, combined with the olive oil and the water make excellent gravy!

5 Responses to “Easy Herb Roasted Turkey”

  1. donna November 17, 2009 at 4:23 PM #

    Sounds simple and dellicious. Bet it made the house smell deightful!!

  2. donna November 17, 2009 at 4:24 PM #

    Excuse my spelling errors, I burned my left hand and am typing with 5 less fingers tonight.

  3. Melissa November 18, 2009 at 8:47 AM #

    I am so bummed I am not hosting Thanksgiving this year! I am seriously debating having our own Thanksgiving dinner on Saturday or Sunday JUST so I can make a turkey and all the sides! This looks like a great recipe.

  4. A Nurse November 26, 2009 at 1:31 PM #

    Hello, I’m a nurse student and this post is very helpul to me. Thank you!

  5. Maryanna December 23, 2009 at 8:29 AM #

    You are so brave to make the turkey. I haven’t gotten up the nerve to do it yet. Yours looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

