Cookies and Cream Ice Cream

17 Dec

I had 3 cups of heavy whipping cream sitting in my refrigerator that needed to be used up, so I made ice cream! I was originally going to make oreo cheesecake ice cream, from Cathy’s Kitchen Journey but I wasn’t sure if my husband would be crazy about the cheesecake flavor. I plan on making this sometime for a girls get-together when I know it will go to good use. This recipe was really easy to throw together, and it had a great consistency. I would make it again!

Cookies and Cream Ice Cream

Inspiration from: ice-cream-freaks.com

  • 3 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 10 oreo cookies (I used the store brand)

Mix the first 3 ingredients in a bowl, making sure sugar dissolves. Pour into ice cream maker and freeze according to it’s directions. Place oreos in a plastic bag and crush with a rolling pin. Add the cookie pieces during the last 5 minutes.

4 Responses to “Cookies and Cream Ice Cream”

  1. Christine December 17, 2009 at 1:46 PM #

    Oh that looks good – and a very easy ice cream recipe!

  2. donna December 19, 2009 at 2:47 PM #

    It so cant get much better than this..

  3. Maryanna December 23, 2009 at 8:28 AM #

    I love this kind of ice cream. I’m laughing at the skim milk with the heavy cream. It’s kinda like when I order a hamburger at McDonalds with a Diet Coke. 🙂 I try to use skim milk when I can in recipes. I’ll definitely have to give this one a try!

    • thecookingnurse December 24, 2009 at 2:31 AM #

      I know what you mean! I always order a diet dr pepper at Mcdonalds with my hamburger and laugh to myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

