Chunky Crunchy Granola

24 Dec

I am making a breakfast basket for my family for Christmas. I have filled it with all kinds of homemade breakfast treats that I hope they will  love! I was looking for a granola recipe the other day when I saw this one pop up on the cooking board I frequent. It looked delicious! It smelled absolutely delicious when it was baking. My husband came home and thought cinnamon rolls were baking in the oven! I made this and took it to work the next day, where it received great reviews. I will be making this again!

Chunky Crunchy Granola

Source: The Local Cook, original source Simply in Season

 

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 cup raisins (I used mini chocolate chips instead)
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup milk

In a large bowl combine the first 7 ingredients (if you are using the chocolate chips instead of the raisins leave these out). Then, add the oil, honey, and milk. Stir until flour is incorporated. If needed, add a tablespoon more of milk.

Bake at 300 degrees for about an hour, stirring every 10 minutes. I spread it out over a large baking sheet. Bake until the granola is light brown. Let cool, and then stir in the chocolate chips. Store in an airtight container for a week or freeze.

2 Responses to “Chunky Crunchy Granola”

  1. donna December 26, 2009 at 1:59 AM #

    Sounds like the perfect breakfast treat!

  2. Marin December 31, 2009 at 1:32 AM #

    My husband is on a big granola kick right now…I need to give this a try. I’ve just been buying it at the local farmer’s market, never made it homemade before.

Leave a Reply

