Cheesy Bread

16 Feb

I googled cheesy garlic bread and came up with this recipe. It looked so cheesy and delicious in the picture, I just had to give it a try. I actually had all the required ingredients on hand, which was a bonus. I thought this was pretty good. It was definitely cheesy, next time I would add a little more garlic to the recipe. I added four cloves, but I think it needs a tad bit more garlic. I am a garlic lover though! This made a ton. I actually cut a loaf of french bread in half for my husband and I. After that, I froze the rest, so I am excited to see how it does after being stored in the freezer.

Cheesy Bread

Source: Simply Recipes

 

  • 8 oz. shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 lb shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 to 1 cup chopped green onions
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp sour cream (optional)
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter (softened to the point of being slightly melted)
  • 1-2 loves of French or Italian bread

1 In a large bowl, mix together the cheeses and the green onion. Stir in the mayonnaise and sour cream. In a separate small bowl blend the butter and garlic until smooth. Add the butter mixture to the cheese mixture.

2 Preheat broiler. Slice loaf of bread in half horizontally, lay crust side down. Spread cheese mixture over the bread. Place under the broiler until nicely browned, about 3 to 5 minutes.

3 Remove from broiler and let sit for 5 minutes until cool enough to handle. Slice the bread with a bread knife. Serve.

Makes 30 to 40 slices.

One Response to “Cheesy Bread”

  1. ashley March 4, 2010 at 3:48 AM #

    i love garlic too! the more the better! 🙂 i’ve been wanting to try this recipe! cheesy garlicky goodness! looks good!

Leave a Reply

