Sherry’s Aussie Chicken

10 Mar

I made this for my husband and a dinner guest tonight. We all thought it was really good! This recipe is supposed to be a copy cat recipe of Outback’s Alice Springs Chicken. I have never ordered that particular dish, so I can’t say how it compares for sure. This was easy to assemble and I loved the combo of chicken, mushrooms, bacon, and honey mustard. I would definitely make this again!

Sherry’s Aussie Chicken

Source: The Finer Things in Life, who lists Lamp Unto My Feet as the source.

 

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded to 1/2 inch thickness
  • seasoning salt
  • 6 slices of bacon, cut in half
  • 1/4 cup mustard
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 T mayo
  • 1/2 T dried onion flakes
  • 1 T vegetable oil (I used the bacon grease)
  • 1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 2 cups shredded colby/jack cheese (I used cheddar)

Sprinkle and rub the chicken breasts with seasoning salt. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Cook bacon in a large skillet until crisp. In a small bowl, mix the mustard, honey, mayo, and dried onion flakes. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Place chicken in the skillet and saute for 3-5 minutes per side, or until browned (I removed the bacon to drain and used the leftover grease to brown my chicken breasts). Move chicken to a 9 x 13 inch pan. Apply the honey mustard to each breast, then layer with mushrooms, bacon, and shredded cheese. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes, or until cheese melts and chicken is cooked. Serve with honey mustard sauce.

2 Responses to “Sherry’s Aussie Chicken”

  1. Patty March 22, 2010 at 10:51 AM #

    This recipe sounds great I think I’ll try to make it for dinner tonight, wish me luck!

  2. Jenniffer April 2, 2010 at 12:30 AM #

    Oh wow! This looks delicious! Great photos!

Leave a Reply

