Garlic Roasted Asparagus

5 Apr

Here is the first recipe for my April Challenge.  Asparagus is one of my favorite vegetables, and it just happened to be on sale this week at the grocery store. I bought two pounds, and I almost ate one pound by myself this afternoon. I am a huge garlic fan, so I knew this recipe was going to be a winner. I really enjoyed the combo of the olive oil, salt, and garlic with the asparagus. The lemon drizzled at the end really set off the other flavors well. I usually steam my asparagus, but this recipe tastes far better. I can’t wait to try it again!

Garlic Roasted Asparagus

Source: Food Network, Emeril Lagasse

 

  • 2 pounds of asparagus, tough ends trimmed, rinsed and patted dry
  • 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons minced garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 425 F. In a large bowl, combine the asparagus, olive oil, and garlic. Toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper, and toss. Lay asparagus out on baking sheet. Bake until asparagus are tender and lightly browned (15-20 minutes) depending on their thickness, stirring twice. Remove from oven and drizzle lemon juice over asparagus. Adjust the seasoning to taste. Serve warm or at room temperature.

4 Responses to “Garlic Roasted Asparagus”

  1. Nicole April 5, 2010 at 10:01 AM #

    Looks wonderful! Great job on the challenge 🙂 Can’t wait to see what the rest of the month brings! How are the walks coming along? 🙂

    • thecookingnurse April 5, 2010 at 10:24 AM #

      I walked on the first, and then I worked all weekend 😦
      I work nights, so I have been so tired! NO excuses though. I plan on walking tomorrow, and lots of walking on the weekend. My husband and I are going to his grandma’s place near a lake. Lots of places to explore, I’m excited.

  2. ash April 6, 2010 at 2:10 AM #

    I love roasted asparagus… Well roasted just about anything! 🙂 Looks good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Garlic Roasted Asparagus - April 29, 2010

    […] The nurse kitchen, originally from […]

Leave a Reply

