Homemade Taco Seasoning

29 Sep

I’m getting ready to mix up my third batch of this homemade taco seasoning, so I think it’s high time I posted it for my family and friends. I will never buy taco seasoning again thanks to this recipe. It’s simple to throw together and it blows the old packets of taco seasoning out of the water. As a side note, I purchased chili powder, paprika, and cumin at Sams for a fraction of the price the grocery store sells them for.

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Source: Annie’s Eats, as seen on Use Real Butter, originally from Mex Recipes

4 tablespoons chili powder

3 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon paprika

3 tablespoons ground cumin

1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons onion powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

*Combine all ingredients in an airtight container. To prepare taco meat, use 2 heaping tablespoons in place of one package of taco seasoning. Add 1 cup of water with seasoning and simmer until liquid is almost completely absorbed. Add salt to taste.

4 Responses to “Homemade Taco Seasoning”

  1. Terry Flinn September 29, 2010 at 11:28 AM #

    Sounds great, I will be trying it soon! Love Aunt T

  2. Jessafur October 21, 2010 at 3:05 PM #

    Thank you for this!!! For YEARS I have thought: “I seriously need to start making my own taco seasoning!!!!” But then… I just never did.

    I am INSPIRED!!!

    • thecookingnurse October 24, 2010 at 11:27 AM #

      Hope you like it as much as we do!

  3. Mary October 31, 2010 at 10:53 PM #

    Have made tacos twice now with your spices and both came out great.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

