Microwave Popcorn

7 Nov

I love snacking on microwave popcorn. I have been buying the low fat microwave mini bags for years. I recently went to Sams Club to stock up on popcorn and they weren’t carrying the low fat version anymore. I hate buying it from the grocery store, I think it’s way overpriced. That’s when I remembered that I had bookmarked this recipe! I will never have to buy microwave popcorn again, this worked very well.

Microwave Popcorn

Source: Branny Boils Over

 

Makes one serving (2 Weight Watcher points)

1/4 cup white popping corn

small brown paper bag

tape (optional)

Place popping corn into brown paper bag. You may add 1 tsp of oil and 1/4 teaspoon of salt  if desired (I didn’t use any oil or salt). Fold lip of  bag over tightly twice. I added a piece of scotch tape to mine, I was nervous I would end up with popcorn all over the place. Place folded side down in microwave. Microwave at full power for 2 min 30 seconds, or until popping sounds are infrequent. My microwave must be super hot, it only took my popcorn about half that time. After cooking, may add seasonings and butter. I love to add I Can’t Belive It’s Not Butter Spray and sprinkle with dry ranch dressing.

3 Responses to “Microwave Popcorn”

  1. Rachel November 7, 2010 at 11:30 AM #

    I love making popcorn this way but never thought to use the Ranch packet. Great idea! I’m pretty sure I have one of those packets around here somewhere…popcorn for me tonight!!

  2. Connie November 7, 2010 at 1:21 PM #

    Just wondering, do you stand the bag up or lay it on its side like the store bought popcorn bags have you do? And if I add the oil and salt do I shake it up to coat the popcorn kernels or just pour it in the sack?
    Looking forward to trying it. Oh and does it have to be white popcorn??
    Thanks!

    • thecookingnurse November 7, 2010 at 5:52 PM #

      Lay it with the folded side down before popping. I don’t think it would matter if you shook the bag after you added the oil, I guess you could experiment with it both ways. I didn’t add oil because I was trying to be a bit healthier 🙂 I used yellow popcorn, that is all my grocery store had on hand and it worked perfectly.

Leave a Reply

