Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup

11 Nov

I have been struggling to find healthy recipes lately that my husband will eat with me. I was hoping this one would be a hit because it smelled wonderful simmering away all day in the crockpot. I always ask at the end of the meal if he liked it, and if he would mind if I made the dish again. He liked this one, and so did I! I especially like that it’s made in the crockpot, which is great when you are working for a no fuss meal.

Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup

Adapted From: Mennonite Girls Can Cook

 

1 cup chunky medium salsa

8 oz. boneless skinless chicken breasts (I added frozen breasts in)

1 (15 oz) can yellow corn, undrained

1 (32 oz) can pinto beans, undrained

1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes with green chilies, undrained

2 (15 oz) cans of cream of chicken soup

2 tablespoons taco seasoning

2 (6 inch) corn tortillas cut into strips

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

I added everything into my crockpot and cooked on low for 8 hours. Before serving I removed the chicken breasts and shredded them with two forks, and then added them back to the crockpot. I served this with shredded cheddar cheese and tortilla chips on the side. The original recipe states to serve with chopped fresh cilantro, which would be wonderful.

Weight Watcher Points: This makes 14 one cup servings at 4 points a piece. Add additional points for extra cheese and tortilla chips.

2 Responses to “Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup”

  1. Mary November 12, 2010 at 11:08 AM #

    Wow that looks really good…got any left overs lol

  2. Heather November 15, 2010 at 10:32 AM #

    Yummy! This looks terrific. Don’t you just love crockpot recipes?

Leave a Reply

