Basic Loaf Bread

8 Dec

I have had this recipe for 17 years! When I took Home Economic’s way back in 1993 this was my favorite recipe. I have always loved to cook and try new recipes. I remember trying to cook in my moms microwave as a little girl. I always wanted an easy bake oven, but I never had one.

This recipe makes a wonderful, soft loaf of bread every time. If you are scared of using yeast, this is the recipe for you! The nice thing about this recipe is that it has to be refrigerated before baking. You can assemble it and bake it in a couple of days. Try it, this recipe won’t let you down.

Basic Loaf Bread

Source: My Home Ec Class

 

3 1/4 cups flour

1 package yeast (I purchase my yeast in bulk, 2 1/4 teaspoons = 1 package of yeast)

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 tablespoon sugar

2 tablespoons margarine

1 cup + 2 tablespoons really warm tap water

cooking oil

*Sift flour, and place in a separate bowl. Combine 1 cup flour, undissolved yeast, sugar, and salt. Stir until combined.

*Add softened margarine to flour combination. Next, add warm water. Beat with a mixer on medium speed for 2 minutes.

*Add 1 cup more flour and beat on high for 1 minute. Stir in enough flour for dough to pull away from the sides of the bowl.

*Place dough on floured surface and knead for 5 minutes.

*Cover with plastic wrap and a clean towel. Let rest for 15-20 minutes. Punch loaf down.

*Shape bread into a loaf shape and place in a greased loaf pan. Poke holes across top of bread.

*Brush loaf with cooking oil. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate 2-48 hours.

*Let stand 10 minutes before baking. Bake at 400 degrees for 35-40 minutes. Brush with butter when bread comes out of the oven.

2 Responses to “Basic Loaf Bread”

  1. Tilo January 7, 2011 at 9:03 PM #

    I was looking for a fast and easy bread to make today. This was the easiest recipe I’ve ever tried – and tastes good! The only confusion I had is that you didn’t specify what kind of yeast you use. I took a guess and used quick rise (instant) yeast since it’s not dissolved or proofed prior to mixing. I ended up baking the bread within hours anyway, but I’m guessing that if I wanted to leave the loaf in the fridge for a day or two that I’d need active dry yeast. Is this correct? Thanks so much for sharing a great recipe.

    • thecookingnurse January 8, 2011 at 2:17 AM #

      I’m glad you liked it. I used instant dry yeast that I buy in bulk from Sams.

Leave a Reply

