Crockpot Pizza Soup

10 Dec

My husband and I love pizza, we used to eat it a few times a month. Now that we live out in the country, our pizza eating has been cut short. Nobody delivers way out where we are. I was excited to try this recipe, and it didn’t disappoint. I have mentioned before that I love anything cooked in the crockpot. I work nights as a nurse, and when I work several nights in a row, it’s hard to find the inspiration to cook. I threw the ingredients in my crockpot this morning when I got home from work. This evening when I woke up it smelled like an Italian pizzeria in my kitchen. I couldn’t wait to have a bite! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Crockpot Pizza Soup

Slightly Adapted From:  A Year of Slow Cooking, Original Source Unknown

 

1 (140z) jar of pizza sauce

3 empty pizza jars full of water

1 green pepper, seeded and chopped

1 cup sliced mushrooms

2 (14.5oz) cans diced tomatoes, undrained

1 package smoked turkey sausage, cut into bite sized pieces

1 cup mini pepperoni

1/2 tablespoon  dried basil

1 tablespoon dried oregano

1 to 1 1/2  cups dried pasta

shredded mozzarella to garnish

salt to taste

Wash and prepare veggies. Dump them into the crockpot. Add diced sausage and pepperoni. Add basil and oregano. Pour in the pizza sauce, and follow with 3 empty jars of water. Add undrained diced tomatoes.  Cover and cook on low for 7-9 hours. Thirty minutes before serving, add the dry pasta and turn the crockpot up to high. Add salt to taste. Garnish with shredded mozzarella cheese.

One Response to “Crockpot Pizza Soup”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy Family Dinners: Crockpot Soups and Stews - September 6, 2013

    […] The minute I saw the words soup and pizza together I knew I had to try this yummy pizza soup recipe. Put your favorite pizza topping in a crock pot and your house is going to smell amazing at the end of the day.  The neighbors will think you have opened up a pizzeria and just might come and ask for a taste. Serve with some crusty bread and you are going to have one happy family dinner night. Click here for pizza soup recipe. […]

Leave a Reply

