Turkey Pot Pie Soup

13 Dec

I cooked a 20 pound turkey last night for dinner so I have lots of turkey leftovers. I saw this recipe a couple of weeks ago and thought it looked like a great way to use up leftover turkey. I love chicken and turkey pot pie, but don’t like how labor intensive it is to make from scratch. This was really tasty, just like turkey pot pie, but much easier to assemble on a weeknight. I served this with grilled cheese sandwiches. I think you definitely need some kind of rolls or bread to go along with it.

Turkey Pot Pie Soup

Source: Easy Yummy Recipes!

 

3 cups cooked turkey, chopped into pieces

1 cup frozen sliced carrots

2 cups baby red potatoes, cut into 1 inch pieces

1 cup frozen peas

1 cup frozen corn

1/4 cup butter plus 1 tablespoon

1/2 cup flour

2 chicken bouillon cubes

4 cups chicken broth

2 cups milk

1 tablespoon fresh thyme

1 onion, chopped

1 teaspoon garlic powder

In a large soup pot, add the butter and onions and cook for 3-4 minutes. Then add the flour and cook for another minute. Slowly add in the chicken broth and the milk while whisking to prevent any lumps. Then add in the remaining ingredients. Cover with a lid and simmer for 10-15 minutes or until the potatoes are fork tender.

*My Notes: I used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables that included corn, carrots, green beans, and peas. I had canned potatoes from our garden that I used instead of the baby red potatoes. I omitted the chopped onion and used onion powder instead. I used dried thyme instead of fresh. I used garlic salt to taste in place of the garlic powder. I also used a whole stick of butter in this recipe.

One Response to “Turkey Pot Pie Soup”

  1. adamswife06 December 13, 2010 at 2:04 PM #

    We love turkey pot pie, I will have to give this a try.

Leave a Reply

