Saltine Toffee

14 Dec

I have seen this recipe here and there for years, but I have never tried it. I wanted a sweet treat to take to work with me tonight and this was perfect. You probably have all the ingredients on hand. I always have butter, brown sugar, chocolate chips, and saltine crackers in the pantry and freezer. This was super simple to assemble. I love the sweetness of the brown sugar mixed with the slight saltiness of the crackers, topped with chocolate.

Saltine Toffee

Source: Food.com

  

2 sleeves of saltine crackers

1 cup butter

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 1/2 cups chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate)

1 cup finely chopped pecans (I omitted)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cover a cookie sheet with foil. Arrange crackers, fitting snuggly in a single layer on cookie sheet. It takes approximately 40 crackers.

In a saucepan over medium-low heat melt butter. Add brown sugar to melted butter and stir well. I read in the comments of this recipe that people had trouble getting the butter and brown sugar to combine. I used a whisk and turned up the heat a little and had no trouble. The two will combine and look like caramel.

Pour the caramel like mixture over the saltines. Spread evenly over crackers. Place in preheated oven and bake 8-10 minutes, until bubbly.

Remove from oven and sprinkle chocolate chips over the toffee. When the chips have softened, spread evenly over toffee with a knife. Sprinkle with nuts immediately.

Let the toffee cool about 5-10 minutes before cutting between individual squares with a spatula.

Remove to a plate, keeping in a single layer. If you don’t remove while still warm, they will stick to the foil.

My Notes: I stuck my entire cookie sheet in the freezer for about 10 minutes so the toffee would harden up and I could remove it from the foil easier.

2 Responses to “Saltine Toffee”

  1. Nicole, RD December 14, 2010 at 6:47 AM #

    YUM! That looks fabulous!

  2. Molly Jean December 14, 2010 at 8:34 AM #

    Uh-oh. This sounds SO flippin’ awesome. I think I remember this circulating a lot when I was a kid but haven’t seen it since. Time for a trip down memory lane? I think so!

Leave a Reply

