Crockpot Spaghetti Sauce

18 Jan

I grew up watching my Dad cook spaghetti on a weekly basis. My dad is a great cook, and he doesn’t use recipes that I have ever seen. When I make spaghetti sauce, like my Dad, I just eyeball everything. The problem with this regimen is that you never end up with a consistent end product. You may produce an excellent spaghetti sauce, but will you be able to repeat it again?  I spotted this recipe on Food.com, and thought it looked alot like something Dad or I have made in the past.  Eric thought the spaghetti sauce had too many seasonings, I thought it was just right. The next time I make this I will cut down on the spices. I halved this recipe, and omitted the ground pork. I think it would be wonderful with the addition of the pork, and I will probably add it the next time I make this sauce. This makes a very large amount of sauce, so be sure and make it when you are having guests over.

Crockpot Spaghetti Sauce

Source: Food.com, user Hey Jude

  

1 lb ground beef

1 lb ground pork

1 medium onion, chopped fine

2 (28 oz) cans diced tomatoes, with juice

2 (6 oz) cans tomato paste

2 ( 8 oz) cans tomato sauce

2 bay leaves

5 garlic cloves, pressed

4 teaspoons dried oregano

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

4 teaspoons dried basil

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1 teaspoon dried thyme

  •  Brown meats and onion in a skillet and drain well.
  •  Transfer to your crock pot.
  •  Add remaining ingredients and mix well.
  •  Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours.
  •  Serve over hot spaghetti noodles.
  • Advertisements

    4 Responses to “Crockpot Spaghetti Sauce”

    1. Nicole, RD January 19, 2011 at 4:55 PM #

      This look delicious!! I am definitely going to try this out!

    2. katshealthcorner January 19, 2011 at 9:43 PM #

      Spaghetti is one of my favorites! This looks amazing! 🙂

    3. adventuresofpretendcook January 21, 2011 at 7:48 AM #

      That spaghetti sauce looks so good! And I love just about any recipe that requires a crockpot. 🙂

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. Crock Pot Spaghetti Sauce | Prevention RD - February 4, 2011

      […] Pot Spaghetti Sauce adapted from The Cooking Nurse and […]

    Leave a Reply

