Homemade Chocolate Pudding

25 Jan

I made some instant chocolate pudding the other day and my husband mentioned that his Grandmother used to make homemade chocolate pudding for him when he was a kid. I never thought about making it from scratch! I searched for a recipe online and came up with this one from Taste of Home. This recipe had good reviews, so I decided to give it a try. I don’t think I will ever buy the boxed pudding again! This was really easy, and I had all the ingredients already on hand. The only thing I would change next time is the amount of sugar in the recipe. I thought it was a little too sweet. Next time I will reduce the amount of sugar or sub in Splenda for half of the sugar.

Homemade Chocolate Pudding

Source: Taste of Home

 

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup cocoa

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 cups milk (I used skim)

2 tablespoons butter

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

In a heavy saucepan, combine sugar, cocoa, cornstarch and salt. gradually add milk. Bring to a boil over medium heat; boil and stir for 2 minutes. Remove from the heat; stir in butter and vanilla. Spoon into individual serving dishes. Chill until serving. Serves 6-8.

One Response to “Homemade Chocolate Pudding”

  1. Micol January 27, 2011 at 12:27 PM #

    Your pictures look so yummy. You should really check out the Food Network new show http://www.recipetoriches.ca Top prize is $250.000 I will be entering my butter tarts!

Leave a Reply

