Peanut Butter Brownie Pie

2 Feb

I made this last night for a special birthday treat for my husband. He in not a big sweets person, but he likes the peanut butter and chocolate combo. We both enjoyed this! It is sooooo rich, so make sure you are sharing it with a crowd. I had a tiny sliver and it was plenty for me.

Peanut Butter Brownie Pie

Source: What’s Cookin, Chicago?, originally from Pillsbury

  

1 refrigerated pie crust, softened as directed on box

1 box brownie mix

1/4 cup peanut butter chips

1/3 cup canola oil

3 tablespoons water

1 egg

1 (8 oz) package of cream cheese, softened (I used 1/3 less fat)

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (I used low-fat)

1 cup powdered sugar

1 (8 oz) container of frozen whipped topping (I used light)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Unroll pie crust and place in ungreased pie plate, fluting the edges. In a medium bowl, combine brownie mix, peanut butter chips, oil, water, and egg. Beat 50 strokes. Pour into prepared pie crust. Bake 30-40 minutes, covering pie crust edges after 15-20 minutes, until crust is golden brown and brownie is set.

Cool slightly, about 20 minutes. Refrigerate 1 hour, or until completely cooled.  In a medium bowl, beat the cream cheese, peanut butter, and powdered sugar until combined. Fold in the whipped topping. Spread mixture over brownie. I sprinkled mine with chocolate chips and peanut butter chips as a garnish. Refrigerate 30 minutes before serving. Store covered in the refrigerator.

I’m linking this with Sweet As Sugar Cookie’s “Sweets for a Saturday” linky party.

2 Responses to “Peanut Butter Brownie Pie”

  1. Carrie February 2, 2011 at 3:23 PM #

    This looks great, I love pie!

  2. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies February 5, 2011 at 10:00 AM #

    Yum, I love peanut butter pie. The idea of putting it onto a brownie sounds absolutely decadent. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog right now called “Sweets for a Saturday” and I’d like to invite you to stop by this weekend and link your pie up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/02/sweets-for-saturday-3.html

Leave a Reply

