Mom’s Stuffed Shells

23 Feb

My Mom used to make this recipe when I was growing up, and it is a favorite of mine! I would often request this recipe after I moved out for birthdays or special occasions. I just love the flavor of the cheese, ham, and pasta sauce. This is great served with a big salad and a warm loaf of fresh bread on the side.  This makes quite a bit. When I make it for my husband and I, I freeze half of it before baking for a later meal.

Mom’s Stuffed Shells

  

1 (12oz) box of  jumbo shells

4 cups of small curd cottage cheese

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese, save 1/2 cup for top of shells

3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for top of shells

3 eggs

1 tablespoon dried parsley

3/4 teaspoon dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

32 oz spaghetti sauce (I used meatless garlic flavor)

5 oz baked ham, diced

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spread a thin layer of spaghetti sauce on the bottom of a 13×9 inch pan and set aside.

Cook jumbo shells, according to package directions (I cooked them al dente). Drain and rinse with cold water.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine the ham, 1 1/2 cups mozzarella cheese, Parmesan cheese, eggs, parsley, oregano, salt, and pepper. Set aside.

Fill each shell with the cheese mixture. Place open side down in the spaghetti sauce prepared 9×13 inch pan.

Drizzle remaining spaghetti sauce over the tops of the stuffed shells. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese as desired over the top of the shells. Finally, sprinkle the rest of the mozzarella cheese over the tops of the shells.

Cover with foil and bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Uncover shells and bake until cheese is melted completely.

Leave a Reply

