Chicken Lettuce Wraps

4 Apr

I don’t know if you have ever been to P.F. Chang’s or not, but one of my favorite appetizers that they offer are the chicken lettuce wraps! I have only been there about 3 times, but we always order this appetizer. When I spotted this copy cat recipe, I had to try it! I thought this recipe tasted great. While it’s not a perfect copy, it’s good in its own right. I will be making this again, especially when a craving hits for P.F. Chang’s!

Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Source: Southern Plate, Inspired by P.F. Chang’s

  

3 boneless skinless chicken breasts

3 green onions

1 small can water chestnuts

1 cup mushrooms

2 tablespoons brown sugar

3 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon olive oil

rice sticks (can be found with the asian supplies at the grocery store)

oil to cook rice sticks in

head of iceberg lettuce

In a large skillet, heat one tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat. Add chicken breasts, and cook through. Remove from heat and let cool. After the chicken breasts cool, dice into small bite sized pieces.

Meanwhile, finely dice the mushrooms, water chestnuts, and green onions. Combine the brown sugar and soy sauce, and stir well. Add the sauce, chicken, and veggies back into the skillet. Cook and stir over medium heat until heated through.

Place one to two inches of vegetable oil in a small sauce pan, and heat over medium high heat. Break off a handful of rice sticks and drop into pot. If oil is hot enough, rice sticks with immediately puff up. You may need to turn them over quickly so the other side will puff up as well. Remove from heat quickly and drain on paper towels.

To assemble lettuce wraps: Take the head of lettuce and smack, stem side down on counter top, and discard stem. Peel off the first 1 or 2 layers of lettuce that are not crisp and discard. Carefully peel off the rest of the layers of lettuce and set aside. Place desired amount of chicken/veggie mixture in each lettuce wrap. Sprinkle with cooked rice sticks, and roll up.

**Weight Watcher points plus is 4 total servings at 5 points a piece without rice sticks. If you omit the olive oil, and just use cooking spray (which I will do next time) when cooking the chicken, they would only be 4 points for 4 servings. I was unsure how to add points for the rice sticks, since they are essentially fried.

 

6 Responses to “Chicken Lettuce Wraps”

  1. Jenny April 4, 2011 at 10:15 AM #

    looks great- I’ve been looking for a good PF Changs knock off! I’ll be trying these this week.

  2. Molly Jean April 4, 2011 at 10:48 AM #

    This is one of my FAVORITE items at Changs. I could eat this for lunch AND dinner, so good!

    Thanks for deconstructing it for me.

  3. Nicole, RD April 5, 2011 at 10:14 AM #

    I love this app from PF Chang’s, too. I always order it. I can’t wait to try these 🙂

  4. katie April 5, 2011 at 10:42 PM #

    I can fry the rice sticks in my pantry? Oh no, you just provided me with some dangerous information! Thanks so much for sharing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Lettuce Wraps | My Kitchen Rx - April 13, 2011

    […] The Cooking Nurse, Inspired by P.F. […]

  2. Chicken Lettuce Wraps {Money Matters} | Prevention RD - April 15, 2011

    […] Chicken Lettuce Wraps adapted from Southern Plate, inspired by P.F. Chang’s, as seen on The Cooking Nurse […]

Leave a Reply

