Baked Ziti

17 May

I was pleasantly surprised with the way this baked ziti turned out. I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. In the past, I have always thought baked ziti was a little bland and dry for my tastes. This ziti was moist and delicious. I loved the hidden layer of provolone cheese and sour cream that is included. I think it really gives it a special twist. I assembled this a day before I baked it, and kept in the refrigerator. It turned out great, I just had to double the baking time. This dish would probably freeze really well for future use. Enjoy!

Baked Ziti

Source:Adapted from See Jane in the Kitchen

 

1 pound Smart Taste pasta, I used mini penne

1 teaspoon onion powder

1 pound lean ground beef

2 jars spaghetti sauce

6 ounces sliced provolone cheese

1 1/2 cups fat-free sour cream

6 ounces part skim mozzarella cheese

2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook ziti until al dente, drain and set aside. Cook the ground beef with the onion powder until browned. When the ground beef is almost done, add in your minced garlic cloves. Drain if needed (I used the leanest ground beef, and there was nothing to drain). Add the spaghetti sauce and Italian seasoning to the beef. Let simmer for 15 minutes. In a 9×13 inch pan, add a layer of the spaghetti sauce to the bottom of the pan. Next, layer 1/2 of the ziti, all of the provolone cheese, all of the sour cream, and half of the spaghetti sauce. Next add the rest of the ziti, the rest of the spaghetti sauce, and the mozzarella cheese. Top with the 2 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese. Bake for 30 minutes, or until bubbly.

**I think this recipe would taste great without the beef too**

3 Responses to “Baked Ziti”

  1. Nicole, RD May 18, 2011 at 1:58 PM #

    Looks simple and delicious!

  2. RSA Now May 22, 2011 at 4:13 PM #

    I always have the same problem with baked ziti, love the flavor, hate the dryness. Can’t wait to try out this recipe

  3. Lauras Meat Grinder May 25, 2011 at 5:33 AM #

    I prepared it and served to my children they really enjoyed. Even my hubby also liked. Thank you for sharing such a delicious recipe 🙂

    Laura Jeffries V
    Meat Grinder Reviews

Leave a Reply

