Joplin Missouri Tornado

25 May

I thought I would make a post dedicated to Joplin Missouri. Less than a year ago my husband and I bought a house just north of Joplin. We put our old house up for sale in Joplin. Sunday, many of my old neighbors lost their homes in the terrible storm. Our old house was located in one of the harder hit areas of Joplin and is left partially standing.

My cousin and her family lost their home just a few blocks away. All my family has been accounted for and is safe. I wish I could say the same for everyone I know. Please pray for Joplin!  The devastation this storm has left behind is heart breaking. My heart aches for my family and friends that have lost so much.

There are many ways to donate to Joplin to help my family and friends.

Donate $10 to Convoy of Hope’s Joplin relief effort by texting: 50555

You can donate $10 to the Joplin Relief Fund by texting “Joplin” to 864833.

Heart of Missouri United Way has established the Joplin Tornado Relief Fund. All donations are tax deductible and go to Joplin relief. Click this link or call (573) 443-4523 to donate.

To donate directly to the Red Cross: a)  Call 1-800-Red-Cross  b)  Text 90999 to make a donation of $10 from your mobile phone or c) visit the Red Cross online donation page.


4 Responses to “Joplin Missouri Tornado”

  1. Cyndy Nemeth May 25, 2011 at 8:50 PM #

    Have been driving around Joplin today looking at the devastation, how the tornado has hit one house, skipped one house, hit the next house and saved the next block. Just unreal. I am so glad to know you and your family are safe from all of this. My husband and I have decided to only salvage what is IMPORTANT to us and just leave the rest to the bulldozers. It’s all rain damaged and/or broken. So very sad but at least we have each other and able to help our fellow neighbors who weren’t as fortunate as we were. Thank you Michelle.

    • thecookingnurse May 29, 2011 at 7:52 AM #

      Cyndy it just broke my heart when I saw you at the office. I will be praying for you and your husband.

  2. stephanie May 29, 2011 at 12:04 AM #

    I am so sorry. I will keep your family & friends in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

