Strawberry Pretzel Salad

31 May

I have had this salad in the past at various potlucks, although I have never tried to make it myself. Let me just say, I don’t know why I held back. Don’t let my picture scare you away, this was excellent….and very addicting! I love the pretzel layer, it’s sweet and salty and the perfect complement to the cream cheese and strawberry jello. I used low fat cream cheese and light cool whip and it turned out great.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Source: See Jane in the Kitchen, adapted from Allrecipes.com

 

1 1/2 cups crushed pretzels, I used my food processor

5 tbl brown sugar

3/4 cup butter, melted

1 cup white sugar

2 (8oz) packages cream cheese

1 (8oz) package cool whip, thawed

1 (6oz) package strawberry jello

2 cups boiling water

16 oz container of frozen sweetened strawberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix crushed pretzels, brown sugar, and butter together. Press down into the bottom of a greased 9×13 in baking pan. Bake for 10 minutes. Allow crust to cool completely.

In a medium bowl, combine the cream cheese and white sugar, and mix until smooth with a hand mixer. Fold in the cool whip and spread onto the cooled crust. Place in fridge for 30 minutes, or until set.

Mix boiling water with jello, and then add in frozen strawberries. Stir to defrost strawberries, pour mixture over cream cheese layer. Place back into fridge until set, about one hour.

2 Responses to “Strawberry Pretzel Salad”

  1. Tracy May 31, 2011 at 3:01 PM #

    My mom used to make this all the time when I was growing up. It’s so good!

  2. Nicole, RD May 31, 2011 at 6:48 PM #

    My mom always makes a version of this…it is soooo good! Simple, but amazing!

Leave a Reply

