Texas Caviar

17 Jul

My mother-in-law made this fabulous dip for all of us the weekend of the 4th of July. I loved it, and couldn’t wait to make it at home. I visited them yesterday, and my mother-in-law already had a recipe card waiting for me. This is a great dip for summertime. It would be a good recipe to take to a bbq or on a picnic. She served it with Scoops tortilla chips, and I did too. I just love the taste of the veggies with a hint of Italian dressing.

Texas Caviar

Source: My mother-in-law, original source unknown

 

2 (14 oz) cans black-eyed peas, drained

1 (15.5 oz) can white hominy, drained

1 (10 oz) can Rotel

4 green onions chopped

1 medium green pepper chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup chopped onion

8 oz bottle Italian salad dressing

Combine all ingredients except for the salad dressing. Pour salad dressing over the mixture and stir well. Cover and let marinate at least 2 hours. Drain and serve with tortilla chips.

One Response to “Texas Caviar”

  1. Daryn Eller July 18, 2011 at 11:49 PM #

    Hi,
    I love your blog. I am a writer for a lifestyle magazine for nurses called Scrubs (scrubsmag.com). I’d love to mention your blog in the magazine. Could you get in touch with me? Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

