Lemon Chicken

29 Jul

I participated in another recipe swap hosted by the blogger A Taste of Home Cooking. I submitted a recipe for baked buffalo chicken wings that I have made several times that we enjoy, and I received this lemon chicken recipe. I was so excited to try the recipe, it looked so delicious!

This recipe didn’t turn out well for me, and I totally blame myself. The chicken breasts I chose were quite large. I should have pounded them thinner before trying this recipe. I didn’t, and therefore they became overcooked. I would love to try this recipe again! My picture is absolutely hideous, so I’m going to refer you to I Was Born To Cook for a much better picture……one of a non-burnt piece of chicken!

Lemon Chicken

Source: I Was Born To Cook, originally from Gianna

 

Lemon Chicken
adapted from my friend Gianna

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breast
flour (just enough to coat all of the chicken)
1 egg, beaten
Italian seasoned bread crumbs (again, just enough to coat)
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil 
4 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 lemons
¼ cup white wine
1 tablespoon butter
¼ cup parsley, chopped

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Dip each piece of chicken in flour, followed by egg, then bread crumbs.  Heat oil in a skillet, then add chicken and remove when fully cooked (leave oil in pan).  Slice into small strips and set aside.

In the same pan, add garlic, lemon juice, wine, butter and parsley.  Cook until mixture is hot.  

In a baking pan,  put 1-2 TBSP of juice just to coat the bottom.  Add one layer of chicken strips.  Pour some juice over it, then add remaining chicken (if any), followed by the rest of the juice.  

Place in the oven for approximately 10-15 minutes, until all ingredients are heated through…do not overcook.

Leave a Reply

