Chocolate Zucchini Bread

1 Aug

I just spotted this recipe a few days ago, and had to make it. I have 2 huge zucchini’s in my fridge that I just knew would be perfect for this recipe. I’m so glad I tried it, it was delicious. I baked this in my Pampered Chef mini loaf pan, and decreased the baking time by about 20 minutes. This bread was moist and delicious, and received rave reviews from my family. My mother in law said she wraps zucchini bread in plastic wrap and places in a ziplock bag. She said she freezes it so they can enjoy it in the winter. I plan on making a few more mini loaves today and putting them in the freezer. For those of you who are afraid of zucchini in a baked good, have no fear you won’t be able to taste it!

Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Source: Sugared Whisk, adapted from Joy of Baking

 

1 1/2 cups shredded raw zucchini

1 cup flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder, sifted

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground allspice

1/2 cup canola oil

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

3/4 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a loaf or mini loaf pan. Grate zucchini, using a medium-sized grater (I used the shredder attachment on my food processor), and set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and allspice.

In a large bowl, beat together by hand the oil, sugars, eggs, and vanilla. After the mixture is well blended, fold in the zucchini shreds.

Add the flour mixture, beating until just combined. Add in the chocolate chips and nuts if using.

Bake for 55-60 minutes (25-30 for mini loaf pan), or until the bread has risen and a toothpick comes out clean after being inserted in the middle.

Place on a wire rack and let cool for about ten minutes. Remove from pan and let cool on wire rack.

Leave a Reply

