Green Pepper Steak

4 Aug

Years ago when I worked labor and delivery on night shift, we would often bring in food and have potluck dinners. One of the ladies I worked with would often make this green pepper steak, and I loved it. Her church had a cookbook fundraiser back in 2001, and I purchased the book. Her recipe was included in the book, and I finally got around to making this on my own.

I thought this turned out great, especially since I used fresh tomatoes and green peppers from our garden. I don’t think my husband would eat this because it has green peppers and onions in it, so I will have to make this when he’s not home  🙂 For me, it’s a keeper.

 

Green Pepper Steak

Source: Jasper First Baptist Church Cookbook, October 2001 courtesy of Donna

 

1 pound beef chuck or round steak, fat trimmed

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 clove garlic

1 teaspoon ground ginger

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup water

1/4 cup oil

1 cup green or red peppers, cut into 1 inch pieces

2 stalks celery, thinly sliced

1 tablespoon cornstarch

2 tomatoes, cut into wedges

1 cup green onions, diced (I used about 1/2 cup Vidalia onion)

 

With a very sharp knife, cut beef across the grain into thin strips, 1/8 inch thick. Combine the soy sauce, garlic,  and ginger. Add beef to soy sauce mixture, toss and set aside while preparing vegetables.

Heat oil in a large frying pan or wok. Add beef and toss over high heat until browned. Sample steak to see if it is tender. If it is not tender, cover and simmer on low for 30-40 minutes.

Turn heat up, and add vegetables (except for tomatoes). Toss until veggies are crisp tender, about 10 minutes. Mix cornstarch and water together. Add to pan; stir until thickened. Add tomatoes, and cook through. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve over steamed rice.

 

 

One Response to “Green Pepper Steak”

  1. Molly Jean August 4, 2011 at 8:51 AM #

    I think that looks delicious. I wonder if it would be equally good on a hoagie (minus the rice, of course)? Yum, yum! If your husband doesn’t want it, I’ll come join you for dinner 🙂

Leave a Reply

