Wacky Chocolate Cake

9 Aug

My husband’s grandmother gave me a cookbook recently. It’s one of those cookbooks that church’s or different groups of people get together and submit recipes for. I have several cookbooks like this and they are filled with great tried and true recipes. This one happens to be from St. Margaret’s Mercy Hospital in Fredonia, K.S. It says in the front of the book that Linda, my husband’s aunt gave this book to his grandmother in 1985.

I was excited to look though the book and make a recipe. My parents came over for dinner last night, and I thought this was the perfect excuse to make this cake!

I have to say, I was intrigued by this recipe. The cake recipe doesn’t call for any eggs, but it does say to add 2 tbsp of vinegar. This cake turned out moist and delicious. I had all the ingredients already on hand, and it was easy to assemble. I will be making this again!

Wacky Chocolate Cake

Source: Sharing Recipes, compiled by St. Margaret’s Mercy Hospital

 

cake:

3 cups flour

6 tbsp cocoa

2 tsp baking soda

2 cups sugar

1 tsp salt

10 tbsp cooking oil

2 tbsp vinegar

2 cups water

frosting:

1/2 stick butter

2 tbsp cocoa

3 tbsp milk (I added more to get a smoother consistency)

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

Sift flour, cocoa, soda, sugar, and salt together. Make a hole in dry ingredients for each of the following: oil, vinegar, and vanilla.

Pour 2 cups water over the whole mixture. Mix, and beat slightly. Do not overbeat.

Place in a greased and floured 9 x 13 inch pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes (I had to bake mine about 40 minutes).

For the frosting: Melt butter, cocoa, and milk together and bring to a boil. Add remaining ingredients and beat well. Pour on cake and spread while cake and frosting are hot.

3 Responses to “Wacky Chocolate Cake”

  1. katie August 9, 2011 at 2:22 PM #

    I love old cookbook recipes, this cake looks fantastic.

  2. Laura February 10, 2017 at 10:23 AM #

    This recipe was also handed down from my Great Aunt Arie….Also called The Wacky cake. Only difference is she would put chocolate bars on warm cake that would melt and make the icing….you can try any candy bar….cookies and cream is good….

Leave a Reply

