Homemade Fajita Seasoning

30 Nov

After having success with the homemade taco seasoning I made, I was really excited  when I ran across this recipe yesterday. As I mentioned in that post, I bought several spices at Sam’s in bulk for a fraction of the price you would pay at the grocery store.

I made chicken fajita’s last night for dinner and they turned out wonderful! Once again, I will never have to buy the premade fajita packets again. I actually enjoy the flavor more of the homemade seasoning. Just like the taco seasoning, I mixed up a batch and stored it in an airtight container for future use. I highly recommend this recipe!

 

 

Homemade Fajita Seasoning

Source: Prevention RD, adapted from Busy Cooks

 

3 tbl. cornstarch

2 tbl. chili powder

2 tsp. salt

1 tbl. paprika

1 tbl. sugar

3 crushed chicken bouillon cubes

1 1/2 tsp. onion powder

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp. cumin

 

Combine all ingredients in an airtight container and mix well. This makes the equivalent of 3 fajita packets.

 

Prevention RD Fajita’s

1 1/2 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into strips
1 green bell pepper, cut into strips
1 red bell peppers, cut into strips
1 yellow or orange bell pepper, cut into strips
1 large onion, sliced
2 tomatoes, sliced
1 “packet” of fajita seasoning (recipe above)

 

Heat a wok or large pan over medium-high heat. Add chicken, 1/2 “packet” or fajita seasoning (about 1 1/2 tablespoons) + 2-3 tablespoons of water. Cook chicken until nearly cooked through. Add veggies and add remaining fajita seasoning and additional water, if needed. Cook until veggies are tender. Yield: 4 servings (about 2 fajitas)

Nutrition Information (per serving): 246 calories; 4.5 g. fat; 128 mg. cholesterol; 679 mg. sodium; 16 g. carbohydrate; 3.8 g. fiber; 4.3 g. sugar; 40 g. protein

 

5 Responses to “Homemade Fajita Seasoning”

  1. Nicole, RD November 30, 2011 at 9:56 AM #

    It’s almost lunch and now I want fajitas! I’m so glad you enjoyed them! Since making my own seasonings, I don’t know that I would go back. I religiously make taco seasoning, fajita seasoning, and garam masala. 🙂

    • thecookingnurse November 30, 2011 at 3:47 PM #

      I feel the same way, the homemade versions taste so much better!

  2. Amber January 1, 2012 at 7:37 PM #

    I just stumbled across your blog, and have already bookmarked a bunch of recipes!

    Have a great new year!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fajitas!! « Full As An Egg - January 18, 2012

    […] of course, the answer was found in the blogging world. I found a great looking recipe at the cooking nurse and decided to use that! I had all the ingredients already in the store cupboard and took no time […]

Leave a Reply

