Stuffed Pepper Soup

29 Jan

I have had this recipe bookmarked for a long time, and just got around to making it. I thought it was really good, we will definitely be repeating it in our house. This soup is very thick, more like a stew. I actually reduced the amount of rice in the recipe by 1/2 cup, but it was still really thick. Next time I will only use one cup of rice total in the recipe, as I like a little more broth. I also reduced the amount of ground beef, and thought it turned out perfect. I topped this with shredded cheddar cheese, and served a loaf of cheese bread from the deli on the side. I’m posting the recipe with the changes I made, and with the adjustments I will make next time I make it. This recipe makes alot (about 12 cups), so I plan on freezing the leftovers for another night.

Stuffed Pepper Soup

Source: adapted from Stick a Fork in it

 

1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef

2 large green peppers, diced

1/2 onion, diced

29 oz can tomato sauce

28 oz can diced tomatoes, undrained

1 cup long grain brown rice, uncooked

32 oz beef broth

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

shredded cheddar cheese (optional)

Brown ground beef in a large stockpot, drain. Finely chop onion and green pepper, and add to ground beef. Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 30-40 minutes or until the peppers are tender and the rice is cooked. Top with shredded cheddar cheese if desired.

2 Responses to “Stuffed Pepper Soup”

  1. Chrissy January 29, 2012 at 12:28 PM #

    So glad you liked it! I haven’t made it in so long, I definetly need to make it soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stuffed Pepper Soup - January 18, 2015

    […] Recipe from Cheese Curd in Paradise via The Cooking Nurse and Stick a Fork In It, Nutrition Information Serving size: ~ 1½ cups […]

Leave a Reply

