Sopapilla Cheescake

5 Feb

My Aunt Kathy has brought this dessert to several family gatherings, and it is always a big hit. I made a Mexican themed dinner for a friend’s birthday one night, and thought this would complement it well for dessert.

It filled my house with the wonderful smell of cinnamon as it was baking, I could hardly wait to try it! I served this warm from the oven, with extra honey drizzled on top. We all enjoyed this, and I will definitely make it again in the future. I lightened it up a bit by using reduced fat crescent rolls and cream cheese. The original recipe calls for butter, but I used margarine as it was all I had on hand.

 

Sopapilla Cheesecake

Source: Aunt Kathy

 

2 (8oz) packages reduced fat cream cheese

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 (80z) cans of reduced fat crescent rolls

3/4 cup sugar + 1 teaspoon cinnamon (mixed)

1/2 cup margarine, melted

1/4 cup honey + extra for serving

Beat cream cheese, 1 cup of sugar, and vanilla with a mixer until smooth and creamy.

Unroll 1 can of crescent rolls and press into the bottom of a greased 9×13 inch pan. Spread cream cheese mixture on top of crescent rolls.

Unroll second can of crescent rolls, and arrange over the top of the cream cheese mixture in pan.

Pour melted margarine over the top of the rolls, and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes, or until golden brown. Drizzle 1/4 cup honey over hot sopapillas. Serve warm or cold, with extra honey on hand.

One Response to “Sopapilla Cheescake”

  1. Julie @ Sugarfoot Eats February 5, 2012 at 3:10 PM #

    I had this for the 1st time a few months ago too & it was sooooo good! Thanks for reminding me that I’ve been meaning to make it!

Leave a Reply

