Buttermilk Substitute

3 Mar

I don’t know about you, but I don’t always keep buttermilk on hand. In fact, I only buy it when I have several recipe to make that require it. Otherwise, I find that it ends up being thrown out before I can use it all. I often use this buttermilk sub recipe instead. It’s so simple, just 2 ingredients (vinegar + milk), that I always have on hand. Not to mention, this is much cheaper than buying buttermilk!

Buttermilk Substitute

Source: About.com

 

For one cup of buttermilk: Place a tablespoon of vinegar in a liquid measuring cup. Fill milk up to one cup line. Let sit for 5 minutes before using.

2 Responses to “Buttermilk Substitute”

  1. Julie @ Sugarfoot Eats March 7, 2012 at 7:30 PM #

    Whaaaaat?! I had NO CLUE you could do this!!! I never have buttermilk when I need it. And it ALWAYS goes bad before I use it all! Now, what are the odds that I’ll remember this tip next time I need buttermilk?? 🙂

    • thecookingnurse March 9, 2012 at 7:04 AM #

      I hope you remember it! I have also seen dried buttermilk in the baking aisle.

Leave a Reply

