Sicilian Eggplant Sauce

9 Mar

I’m participating in another recipe swap, this is the second pasta themed swap we have had. I submitted a recipe for creamy chicken and artichoke pasta that we enjoy, and I received this recipe. I have to admit, when I went through the ingredients for this pasta, I was a little worried. The original recipe contained cinnamon and raisins, which I didn’t see going over very well at my house. I just decided to omit them and go on with the rest of the recipe. I really enjoyed what I ended up with. My husband couldn’t even tell there was eggplant in the recipe, which was a plus. He is not a big fan of it, although I really like it. I would make this again, it’s a great way to sneak in extra veggies!

Sicilian Eggplant Sauce

Source: adapted from Adventures in My Kitchen, original recipe from Woman’s Day magazine April 2011

 

1 pound lean ground beef

1/2 medium onion, diced

1 tablespoon minced garlic

1/2 teaspoon each of salt and pepper

1 medium eggplant, peeled and cut into bite sized pieces

16 oz tomato sauce

6 oz tomato paste

14.5 oz can diced Italian seasoned tomatoes

1 tablespoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning

3/4 cup water

pasta of choice ( I used Angel hair)

Heat a large dutch oven pan over medium heat. Add ground beef, onion, and garlic and cook until beef is browned. Stir in remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Lower heat, and simmer for one hour. Serve over desired pasta.

2 Responses to “Sicilian Eggplant Sauce”

  1. Ammie March 9, 2012 at 7:35 AM #

    Glad you liked it! I can understand your hesitation, I had it too initially! But I swear the cinnamon and raisins work, maybe next time. 😉

  2. The Home Cook March 9, 2012 at 10:32 AM #

    Being able to sneak in some veggies is great!

    Thanks for being part of the recipe swap!

Leave a Reply

