Homemade Instant Pancakes

22 Aug

My little man loves pancakes, so the other night I whipped up this recipe for our dinner. The recipe was easy to make, and we both loved the pancakes! I’m excited that I have more dry pancake mix for another quick dinner. The recipe says to add 1 cup of milk for each batch of pancakes, but next time I think I will add just a little less. The pancakes were on the thinner side. The recipe says you can add half whole wheat flour too, so I am going to try that with the next batch. I love making my own convenience foods, it not only saves money; but it’s healthier too!

Homemade Instant Pancakes
Source: Something Swanky

4 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons, plus 2 teaspoons sugar
4 tablespoons butter, cold

Whisk together all of the dry ingredients. Cut in the butter with a fork or pastry blender until the mixture is crumbly. Try to get the butter in as small of pieces as possible, so it incorporates well.

To make pancakes: In a medium sized bowl, microwave 1 cup of the flour mixture so the butter softens. Mix in the egg, and one cup of milk. Cook on a griddle or skillet. One cup of mix = 6 pancakes.

instant pancakes

Leave a Reply

