Homemade Laundry Soap

3 Nov

I know this isn’t a cooking recipe, but I thought I would go ahead and share this great homemade laundry soap recipe. I just mixed up my second batch of this soap, and I couldn’t be happier with it! It is cleaning our clothes just as good as traditional store bought soap, and it smells great. It costs just a fraction of what you would spend on the regular stuff. It takes about 5 minutes to mix all the ingredients up. The recipe calls for a box of Borax, washing soda, Purex crystals, and a bar of Fels naptha soap. I found all these ingredients on the laundry soap aisle at Walmart. I spent around $15 dollars for all this (I used Gain crystals, which were a little more expensive). This makes a smaller batch of soap, about 32-64 loads worth; depending on how much soap you use. The next time you make a batch, you only have to buy the Fels naptha soap (which was around a dollar). This makes 8 batches total of soap. I don’t have a he washing machine, but the recipe states you can use this soap in those machines. This recipe does not produce any suds. Just thought I would share, let me know if you try it!

Homemade Laundry Soap
Source: love, pomegranate house

1 cup washing soda
1 cup Borax
1 bar laundry soap, grated (Fels Naptha, Zote, or Ivory)
1/4 cup scented laundry crystals

Grate the bar of soap with a cheese grater (I have used my food processor and my cheese grater). Mix all the ingredients together. Store in a airtight container. Use one tablespoon per load of laundry, or a little more if it is a really dirty load.

homemade laundry soap

Leave a Reply

