Homemade Play Dough

4 Jan

The other day I whipped up a batch of this homemade play dough for my little guy in just a few minutes. I had all the ingredients on hand to make it, which was nice. I rolled it out on a cookie sheet, and set it on the kitchen floor. I let him play with my cookie cutters in the play dough, and he loved it. It was so easy to make! I stored it in an airtight Ziploc container, and it has remained moist for several weeks now.

Homemade play dough
source: the imagination tree

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tbl vegetable oil
1/2 cup salt
2 tbl cream of tartar
up to 1 1/2 cups boiling water (add until it feels right)
food coloring (optional)
few drops of glycerine (optional) I didn’t use this

Mix the flour, salt, and cream of tartar in a larger mixing bowl. Add the boiling water. Stir continuously until it becomes a sticky, combined dough. Add the food coloring and glycerine if using. Allow it to cool down, then take it out of the bowl and knead vigorously for a couple of minutes until all the stickiness is gone. If it remains sticky, add a touch of flour until just right.

**I read a tip to put the food coloring in with the boiling water so it’s easier to combine with the dough…I might try that next time!

play dough

One Response to “Homemade Play Dough”

  1. Jane March 10, 2014 at 8:14 PM #

    I don’t like using food dye, so I often boil beets for purple, leafy stuff for greens etc. I will try this on my son though – hopefully he will like to mold the dough and cook with me!

Leave a Reply

