No Bake Stuffed Peppers

23 Aug

Stuffed peppers are one thing my mom made when I was growing up that I absolutely dreaded! It’s funny how your tastes change as you age. I really enjoy stuffed peppers now that I’m older. This recipe was was really delicious, and I loved that I didn’t have to turn my oven on!

 

No Baked Stuffed Peppers

Source: Sing For Your Supper

 

  • 2 medium bell peppers (any color, I used green and red from our garden)
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil
  • 1 15 ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 small onion, diced (I used onion powder, about 1 tsp.)
  • 2 cups rice, cooked
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese (I used Colby and Monterrey jack)
  • salt to taste
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced (not in original recipe)

Cut peppers in half lengthwise. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil, drop peppers in and boil for 5-6 minutes. In a small bowl, mix tomato sauce, basil, and sugar and set aside. Brown meat and onion in a large skillet. I added the garlic for just a few seconds at the end to prevent it from burning. Drain the meat. Stir in 1/2 the tomato sauce, 1/2 cup of the rice and the salt. Cover and simmer for 5 minutes; stir in the cheese. Spoon meat mixture into peppers and place into skillet. Pour remaining tomato sauce around peppers; cover and simmer. Top with additional cheese if desired. Serve on top of remaining rice.

stuffed p

8 Responses to “No Bake Stuffed Peppers”

  1. Amy (Sing For Your Supper) August 23, 2009 at 12:22 PM #

    They look great!! Hope everybody loved them!! They’re certainly some of our favorites!!

  2. thecookingnurse August 23, 2009 at 12:27 PM #

    They were fantastic! My husband said he “hated” stuffed peppers and he even said they were great!

  3. Donna August 23, 2009 at 2:54 PM #

    I adore stuffed peppers and this sounds like an excellent version!

  4. The Novice Chef August 25, 2009 at 12:47 PM #

    These look delicious! I am making these the next time we have people over!

  5. Joelen September 2, 2009 at 1:25 AM #

    Mmmm – its been forever since I’ve made stuffed peppers! These look delicious!

  6. Angela October 19, 2009 at 11:32 PM #

    I love your idea of boiling the peppers. This saves a lot of baking time.

  7. Shannon March 6, 2010 at 7:24 PM #

    Thank you for sharing your mom’s recipe. These turned out really good. I will make these again!!!!

    • thecookingnurse March 7, 2010 at 10:03 AM #

      They were actually Amy’s recipe, see above comment. I’m glad you enjoyed them, we loved them too.

Leave a comment