Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

15 Mar

I liked the last pulled pork recipe I tried, but this one has that beat by a mile! Granted this one takes a tad longer to assemble, but it is totally worth it. Don’t get me wrong, this is not a hard recipe. The hardest part is measuring out all the spices for the spice rub. This serves an army, so make sure and prepare it for a  crowd! I halved the recipe and still had alot of pork. I portioned it out into Ziploc’s and froze it for a future fuss free dinner.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Source: The Way the Cookie Crumbles, spice rub from Cooks Illustrated

 

Spice Rub:
1 tablespoon ground black pepper
1-2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
2 tablespoons chili powder
2 tablespoons ground cumin
2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1 tablespoon dried oregano
4 tablespoons paprika
2 tablespoons table salt
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 tablespoon ground white pepper (I omitted)

1 (6-8 pound) bone-in pork shoulder (I used a pork tenderloin)
½ teaspoon liquid smoke (optional)
2 cups barbecue sauce

1. Mix all spice rub ingredients in small bowl.

2. Massage spice rub into meat. Wrap tightly in double layer of plastic wrap; refrigerate for at least 3 hours. (For stronger flavor, the roast can be refrigerated for up to 3 days.)

3. Unwrap roast and place it in slow cooker liner. Add liquid smoke, if using, and ¼ cup water. Turn slow cooker to low and cook for 8-10 hours, until meat is fork-tender.

4. Transfer roast to cutting board; discard liquid in liner. “Pull” by tearing meat into thin shreds with two forks or your fingers. Discard fat.

5. Place shredded meat back in slow cooker liner; toss with 1 cup barbecue sauce, and heat on low for 30-60 minutes, until hot. Serve with additional barbecue sauce.

6 Responses to “Slow Cooker Pulled Pork”

  1. katie March 15, 2011 at 1:58 PM #

    This looks delicious~ do you have a bbq sauce recommendation?

  2. Nicole, RD March 17, 2011 at 7:01 AM #

    That looks delicious!!

  3. Nicole, RD March 17, 2011 at 8:17 AM #

    I don’t have a blogroll anymore 😦 When I had my blog redone, there wasn’t room. I miss it! I miss more being able to get to blog sites at work…it’s killing me! I can only get to .wordpress.com and .blogspor.com sites….the dot-coms are all out, including my own!! LOL!

    • thecookingnurse March 17, 2011 at 11:58 AM #

      Oh, that would be a pain! I really enjoyed reading over the blogs you had in your blogroll!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Slow Cooker Pulled Pork | Prevention RD - March 26, 2011

    […] Cooker Pulled Pork from The Way the Cooking Crumbles via The Cooking Nurse; spice rub from Cooks […]

Leave a comment