Smoked Chicken Dip

14 Jun

The Red Onion Cafe is one of my all time favorite local restaurants. Every time I go, I always order the smoked chicken dip. I would rather eat this dip than most of my dinner, if that tells you how good it is!

Several months ago, I mentioned to my aunt how much I loved the smoked chicken dip. She said she had a copy cat recipe of the dip that she would share with me. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. I finally got around to making it tonight……I don’t know what took me so long!

Another aunt is visiting from Florida, and she helped me whip this dip up before dinner tonight. Everyone thought it was delicious. I was the only one tonight that has had the original, but I must say that it comes really close to the restaurant’s dip. I served this with tortilla chips and celery sticks on the side.

 

 

Smoked Chicken Dip

Source: Aunt Connie, inspired by Red Onion Cafe

 

2 (8oz) packages of cream cheese, softened (I used 1/3 less fat)

3/4 cup sour cream

1 tablespoon chili powder

liquid smoke to taste

1 small can chopped green chilies

2 rotisserie chicken breasts, chopped

salt and pepper

tortilla chips

garnish: red onion, diced tomatoes, and diced jalapenos

 

In a large bowl, combine the softened cream cheese, sour cream, chili powder, 1 teaspoon liquid smoke (adjust to your preference), green chilies, and chopped rotisserie chicken. Mix well, and season with salt and pepper to taste. Place in refrigerator for at least 1-2 hours for flavors to mingle. Garnish with diced tomatoes, red onion, and jalapenos. Serve with tortilla chips.

 

5 Responses to “Smoked Chicken Dip”

  1. Nicole, RD June 16, 2011 at 1:45 PM #

    Catchy name…and recipe! YUM!

  2. Bree Courtney May 28, 2013 at 3:51 PM #

    I too love this Red Onion Cafe favorite and now all my friends request me to bring this to get togethers. Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Cathy Waggoner December 31, 2020 at 6:04 PM #

    Hi Michelle, found your recipe on Pinecrest. Couldn’t belive I saw Red Onion, then your picture popped up!! Looking very professional on here!! Thanks for posting. Happy New Year!!

    • thecookingnurse December 31, 2020 at 6:48 PM #

      Thanks Cathy! I haven’t posted in years on my blog lol! Happy New Year to you!

Leave a comment