Ginger, Scallion, and Garlic Shrimp

8 Sep

I participated in another recipe swap, the theme this time was seafood. I submitted my parmesan tilapia that I made recently, and in turn I received this one.

I have never cooked with raw ginger, so I was excited to try this recipe. I have seen ginger at the grocery store, it’s a funny looking root  🙂

 I don’t know why I have never dared to use raw ginger, I always use ground ginger in recipes. I didn’t realize how fragrant it is! I won’t hesitate to use it again in the future.

I thought this recipe was spicy and tasty! I am a big fan of shrimp as it is. Thanks to A Taste of Home Cooking for the recipe.

Ginger, Scallion, and Garlic Shrimp

Source: A Taste of Home Cooking, slightly modified from Rachael Ray Magazine August/September 2006

 

1 large egg white

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1 1/2 teaspoons sugar

2 teaspoons salt (next time I will only use one)

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

1 1/2 pounds large shrimp, shelled and deveined

6 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1 1/2 inch piece of ginger, scraped and finely chopped (about 1 tablespoon)

1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper

1/4 cup canola or vegetable oil

2 bunched scallions, halved lengthwise, cut into 1 inch pieces (I diced mine)

steamed rice

In a medium bowl, whisk the egg white with the cornstarch, sugar, salt, and pepper until a paste forms. Add the shrimp, and toss to coat. Set the shrimp aside to marinate for ten minutes. In a small bowl, combine the garlic, ginger, and red pepper; set aside.

Heat a large, heavy skillet over high heat for three minutes. Add the oil and swirl to coat the bottom of the skillet.

Drain the shrimp in a colander to remove the excess marinade, patting dry with paper towels. Add half of the shrimp to the hot pan. Cook, turning once, until the shrimp are almost cooked through, about two minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon and add the other half of the shrimp, repeating above directions.

Add the scallions and stir to coat with oil. Add the garlic mixture and cook, stirring until the garlic becomes fragrant. Scrape up any brown bits from the bottom of the pan as the scallions cook.

Add the shrimp back into the pan and continue to cook for about one minute. Serve over steamed rice.

 

 

One Response to “Ginger, Scallion, and Garlic Shrimp”

  1. Nicole, RD September 8, 2011 at 9:37 AM #

    This sounds really good! Welcome to the wonders of fresh ginger – yum!!

Leave a comment